Richard E. Merwin Student Scholarship

IEEE Computer Society offers $40,000 in student scholarships to recognize and reward active student volunteers in IEEE Student Branches or IEEE Computer Society Student Branch Chapters who show promise in their academic and professional efforts. Students are eligible for up to US $1,000.

Created in honor of the late Richard E. Merwin, past president of the IEEE Computer Society, to recognize and reward student leadership.

Winners serve as IEEE Computer Society Student Ambassadors for one year serving as a liaison between the IEEE Computer Society leadership and student members in their region.

Application deadlines: 30 April and 30 September of each year.

Upsilon Pi Epsilon Honor Society

The Executive Council of Upsilon Pi Epsilon (UPE) encourages academic excellence for students in the computing discipline. UPE initiated this award with the IEEE Computer Society, as the largest association of computer professionals, to raise the importance of academic achievement in our future computing professionals.

Up to four awards of $1,000 each are given each year. Winners also receive a certificate of commendation and a one-year subscription to a Computer Society periodical. The UPE award criteria requires the same minimum grade point average required for UPE membership, which is currently a minimum of 3.0 out of a possible 4.0.

Deadline to apply: October 31 of each year.

Lance Stafford Larson Student Paper Award

The Lance Stafford Larson Award was established in 1983 by the Larson family in memorial for their son, who died in an electrical accident while an undergraduate at the University of Maryland. The Larson family, which includes IEEE Past President Robert Larson, created this award to encourage students to develop excellence in their communication skills and to motivate students toward achievement in the field of Computer Science.

One award of $500 is awarded each year to the first-place winner in the undergraduate and graduate categories. First, second, and third-place winners will receive a certificate of commendation. In the case of multiple authors, the prize is divided among all student authors.

Application deadline: October 31 of each year.